Two groups of students hold plaques and certificates standing on stairs

Roscoe Central School Junior Honor Society inducted eight members, and a member of the junior honor society was elevated to the senior society, during ceremonies on Dec. 1.

During an afternoon ceremony in the RCS auditorium, ninth graders Robert Eckert and Olivia Stickle and eighth graders Hayden Bowers, Brooke Coman, Lydia DeVantier, David Huezo-Pineda, Benjamin Johnston and Anastasia Niforatos were welcomed into the William Jones Chapter of the Junior Honor Society. They joined 10th grader Wesley Kinne, who served as president and co-secretary, and ninth graders Julia Meola, who was vice president and co-secretary, and Gregory Poptanich, who was treasurer. 

Adviser Krista Davidson welcomed the students, staff and family members in attendance. Members read essays on the qualities of membership before officially inducting the members Leadership, written by Gregory, was read by Julia; Scholarship, written by Julia, was read by Wesley; Character, written by Wesley, was read by Gregory; and Service, written by Wesley, was read by Julia. After each essay was read, a candle representing that quality was lit by the speaker.

Each new member was introduced and escorted to the stage before being presented a certificate by Mrs. Davidson. After all were on stage, the new members recited the Junior Honor Society pledge, led by Wesley. The ceremony was closed with remarks by Principal Janice Phillips.

Later that evening, at a banquet in the auditorium, Wesley was the sole inductee into the Verlynn R. Hill Chapter of the National Honor Society. 

He joined seniors Jacqueline Lambe, Kansas Miner, Joey Park, Liam Haering, Meagan McDoal, Samantha Powell and Anthony Teipelke, and juniors Sarah Gorr, Aiden Johnston and Athena Niforatos in membership. Kansas, who is chapter president, and Meagan were unable to attend the ceremony.

Adviser Katie Ahart welcomed those in attendance, with opening remarks by Liam, who is chapter vIce president. Liam also led the Pledge of Allegiance before members highlighted the qualities of membership: Leadership, read by Jacqueline, written by Sarah; Scholarship, read by Athena, written by Samantha, who is chapter secretary; Character, read by chapter treasurer Anthony, written by Aiden; and service, read by Sarah, written by Athena.

The ceremony began with Joseph lighting the candles. Ms. Ahart introduced Wesley, as Aiden escorted the inductee to the stage. The NHS pledge was led by Liam. The buffet meal, which featured stuffed mushrooms, Caprese skewers, wrapped mini dogs, and chips with homemade dill and buffalo chicken dips, followed by a welcome by Principal Phillips.

After the meal, Ms. Ahart introduced the graduating seniors, PTA Co-President Sylvia Park and member Cheri Niforatos presented the senior plaques, and Liam accepted awards. Ms. Ahart thanked everyone who made the event possible, including administration, the Board of Education and the PTA. Principal Phillips offered closing remarks for the 66th annual induction.

See more photos on our Facebook page.